‹ Library

Epitalon

Research compound · not FDA-approvedChecked Oct 2026

Also called Epithalon, Epithalone, AEDG peptide, Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly

Research and education only. Not medical advice. Talk to a doctor.

FDANot approvedNo approved product found
HUMAN TRIALSNone foundOn ClinicalTrials.gov
SPORTNot namedNot on the 2026 list

In 30 seconds

A lab-made 4-amino-acid peptide modeled on an extract of cow pineal gland.[1]

The evidence comes from cell cultures and mice; no human trials are registered.[2][4][9]

Not FDA-approved.[5]

How far has the research gotten?

FDA approved
Large human trials
Small human studies
Animal studiesMOST HERE
Lab cells

Telomere and lifespan findings come from cells and mice only.[3][4]

The molecule

AlaGluAspGly
NeutralNegative charge
4amino acids
390.35g/mol
C14H22N4O9formula
PubChem record 219042 ›

Research over time

Papers on PubMed each year that mention Epitalon.051020102015202020255 papers in 2025
What's "Category 2"?

FDA's list of bulk substances it says may raise significant safety risks if pharmacies compound them. Epitalon was on it until its nomination was withdrawn.[7]

What studies used

What each paper reports. A record of published research, not a recommendation.
Human cellsTelomeres

Whether adding epitalon to telomerase-negative human fetal fibroblast cultures changed expression of the telomerase catalytic subunit, telomerase activity and telomere length.

Bull Exp Biol Med · 2003 · PubMed 12937682
What the paper reports
Epithalon peptide induces telomerase activity and telomere elongation in human somatic cells.

not stated in abstract

Who: Human cells in culture (fetal fibroblasts)
Human cellsTelomeres

Telomere length, hTERT mRNA expression, telomerase activity and alternative lengthening of telomeres (ALT) activity in normal and cancer cell lines treated with epitalon. A correction to this article was published (PMID 41240216).

Biogerontology · 2025 · PubMed 40908429
What the paper reports
Epitalon increases telomere length in human cell lines through telomerase upregulation or ALT activity.

not stated in abstract (described as dose-dependent)

Who: Human cell lines in culture (breast cancer lines 21NT and BT474; normal epithelial and fibroblast cells)
Mice · 54 a groupLifespan

Effects on food intake, body weight, estrous function, chromosome aberrations in bone marrow cells, lifespan and spontaneous tumor incidence compared with saline controls.

Biogerontology · 2003 · PubMed 14501183
What the paper reports
Effect of Epitalon on biomarkers of aging, life span and spontaneous tumor incidence in female Swiss-derived SHR mice.

1.0 microg/mouse (approximately 30-40 microg/kg) subcutaneously on 5 consecutive days every month, from age 3 months until natural death

Who: Mice (female outbred Swiss-derived SHR; 54 per group)
What it is, in full 4

Epitalon is a synthetic peptide made of four amino acids (Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly), designed from the amino acid makeup of epithalamin, an extract of cow pineal gland.[1]

In laboratory cell cultures, research groups have reported that it raised telomerase activity and lengthened telomeres in human cells.[2][3]

In a lifelong mouse study, monthly injection courses did not change average lifespan, but the authors reported longer survival among the longest-lived mice and fewer leukemias; these are animal findings.[4]

In reviewing a compounding nomination, FDA said it had not identified safety-related information on epitalon for the proposed route of administration.[7]

Regulatory details 4
FDANot FDA-approved

A search of FDA's Drugs@FDA data (openFDA) for 'epitalon' and 'epithalon' returned no matching application or product.[5]

Checked 2026-10-06
FDA (503A COMPOUNDING)Not listed in 503A categories 1, 2 or 3

Epitalon does not appear in category 1, 2 or 3 of FDA's 503A nominated bulk drug substances list updated May 14, 2026.[6]

Checked 2026-10-06
FDA (503A COMPOUNDING)Formerly in category 2; nomination withdrawn

FDA lists epitalon among bulk drug substances previously in category 2 whose nominations were withdrawn, citing possible immunogenicity risk for certain routes due to aggregation and peptide-related impurities.[7]

Checked 2026-10-06
WADANot named on the 2026 Prohibited List

Epitalon is not named in the 2026 List. Section S0 (prohibited at all times) covers any pharmacological substance not addressed elsewhere on the List that has no current approval by any government health authority for human therapeutic use; whether S0 applies to a given product is for anti-doping authorities to determine.[8]

Checked 2026-10-06
Human trials on ClinicalTrials.gov

Searches of ClinicalTrials.gov on 2026-10-06 for 'epitalon' (intervention field) and 'epithalon' (all fields) returned no registered studies.[9][10]

All sources 10
  1. Araj SK et al. Overview of Epitalon-Highly Bioactive Pineal Tetrapeptide with Promising Properties. Int J Mol Sci. 2025. PMID 40141333PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  2. Khavinson VKh et al. Epithalon peptide induces telomerase activity and telomere elongation in human somatic cells. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2003. PMID 12937682PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  3. Al-Dulaimi S et al. Epitalon increases telomere length in human cell lines through telomerase upregulation or ALT activity. Biogerontology. 2025. PMID 40908429PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  4. Anisimov VN et al. Effect of Epitalon on biomarkers of aging, life span and spontaneous tumor incidence in female Swiss-derived SHR mice. Biogerontology. 2003. PMID 14501183PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  5. openFDA Drugs@FDA API query for 'epitalon' (no matches; same result for 'epithalon')U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  6. FDA: Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A (category lists, updated May 14, 2026)U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  7. FDA: Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks (content current as of 04/22/2026)U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  8. WADA: World Anti-Doping Code International Standard, Prohibited List 2026 (in effect 1 January 2026)World Anti-Doping Agency
  9. ClinicalTrials.gov API search, intervention = epitalonClinicalTrials.gov (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  10. ClinicalTrials.gov API search, all fields = epithalonClinicalTrials.gov (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Tip

Tap any purple number to open the source it came from.

Written from the sources above and checked on the date shown. Sources can be incomplete or out of date, and summaries can contain mistakes: read the source. See the terms.